The event is the initiative of Michael Mbambani, who with the support of the Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality, organised the first Freedom Run on 2 April, 2011.
April 18, 2024  
Michael Mbambani, renowned South African athletics coach, and founder of local Ikhamva athletics club, was recently selected by Athletics South Africa (ASA) to oversee the marathon team that will represent the country at the Olympics games in Paris from July.

“The race will start and finish at the Raymond Mhlaba Sport Centre in Motherwell and will follow an excellent 10km route, one of the best to achieve your personal best time,” said Mbambani.
“We are taking sport to the people, and bringing events closer to the kids.

“The Motherwell Freedom race is accessible, where many youngsters can walk to the event, so we really want to encourage our local junior athletes, aged 14 to 19 years, to participate.

“We are grateful to the Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality, our main sponsor, for their ongoing support, and extend our appreciation to all our sponsors and supporters, CHC-SA Construction, Impact Sports, EP Athletics, and the traffic and technical officials – they all play a key role in ensuring the success of events such as these,” said Mbambani.

Nearly 700 runners took to the streets of Motherwell last year with Yanga Malusi, of Real Gijimas, finishing first in 29.31, and Ikhamva athlete, Cwenga Nose, in second position in 29.53.

A number of senior top athletes will not be competing in the event, so the finish will be wide open for our local young and promising athletes to achieve their best time.

Modern Athlete 2023 Road Runner of the Year, Thabang Mosiako, who recently won the Totalsports Two Oceans Half Marathon, will not be competing.  Melikhaya Frans and Simon Sibeko, defending ASA Marathon Champ, will be competing at the ASA Marathon championships in Durban the following day, Sunday, 28 April.

Cwenga Nose, who is growing in running confidence at every race, and Nicholas Seoposengwe will be the men to watch at the finish.

Luyanda Tshangana and Desmond Zibi will be defending their top positions in their respective age categories and Desmond has a personal goal in mind too.

“Weather permitting, I want to break my own SA record, which given my training should be in my reach,” said a determined Zibi.

Kelly van Vliet, of Nedbank running club, the first women home last year, in 36.40, will be defending her title next weekend.

Both Kayla Nel, of Charlo athletics club, who finished in third position last year, and Leigh Callaghan, of Achilles AAA, winner of the recent Kariega Human 21km race, have also confirmed their participation.

“I am excited and ready to compete in the Motherwell Freedom10km run, the course is flat and super-fast so competition will be fierce, but I am looking forward to a fun morning out and a strong turnout,” added Callaghan.

Popular local athlete and motivational writer, Ntombesintu Mfunzi, of Nedbank running club, will be using the Freedom race to gauge her fitness as it will be her first race after recent surgery and recuperation.

“I am looking forward to competing in the 10km race to see how my body will respond, and I am feeling positive about my running for the second half of the season,” added Mfunzi.

The Freedom Run has grown each year from 176 entries in 2011, and organisers are expecting a strong turnout of runners to start at 07h00 from the Raymond Mhlaba Sport Centre in Motherwell.

The 10km is an EPA participation league event which will attract many local clubs and a number of high-profile national athletes who are keen to compete on this fast route.
Athletes can enter at Brian Bands, The Footballer, Sportsmans Warehouse and UD Sports until pre-entries close at 14h00 on Wednesday, 24 April 2024.

Online entries on will be accepted until Tuesday, 23 April.

Entry fees are R100 for 10km, and athletes over 65 years will receive a 50% discount. Temporary licenses will cost R50.  

Collection of race numbers (pre-entries) and late entries will be accepted from 14h00 until 18h00 on Friday, 26 April 2024 at the EP Athletics office, Westbourne Oval, Westbourne Road. Race number collection will be allowed on race day but no late entries.

The cut off time for the 10km is 100 minutes, at 08h40.

Supplied by LOC EPA from nedbankrunningclub